2012 BAM Award Winners Announced, 2013 President Installed

On Wednesday December 10th members from around the state gathered for the annual Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) board meeting and the Awards Dinner and Farewell Party for Pam Perri. Thank to all who attended, sponsored and help make the day a success.

During the board meeting, a budget for 2013 was approved and the board discussed several important issues including the fight against mandatory fire sprinklers, the Legal Action Fund, the new draft energy code, and preparation for the Minnesota 2013 legislative session.

The evening?s events began with a cocktail reception followed by dinner and presentation of the 2012 BAM Awards hosted by Keith Kylmala. A big congratulations goes out to the 2012 award winners.

  • Rising Star Award ? Sam Horn, Brainerd Savings and Loan
  • Associate of the Year ? Gerry Traut, Xcel Energy
  • Remodeler of the Year ? Todd Bjerstedt, McDonald Remodeling
  • Builder of the Year ? KC Chermak, Pillar Homes

Following the awards ceremony, 2013 BAM President Chad Kompelien of Mike Kompelien Custom Homes was sworn in by his father Mike Kompelien. Chad?s wife, daughter, son and mother were also present to witness the installation. Chad gave a gave a powerful speech after being sworn in stating, ?The Builders Association of Minnesota is not just the watch dog for its builder and associate members, we also look out for all current and future homeowners… Together we will make this industry the best in Minnesota.? He introduced some of his priorities for the year including taking fire sprinklers through the administrative law judge hearing process, educating new lawmakers at the State Capitol, and helping BAM?s new executive vice president transition in and get out to each local association.

Rounding out the evening was a presentation made by Kathe Ostrom, with the help of nine past BAM presidents, to thank Pam Perri for 11 years of service to the associaiton and industry as BAM?s executive vice president. The past presidents in attendance to toast – and roast – Perri included Tom Walsky, Curt Swanson, Jeff Schoenwetter, Jim Gander, Kathe Ostrom, Monte Mraz, Mike Gohman, Todd Bjerstedt, and 2012 BAM President Keith Kylmala. Each spoke of their experience working with Perri celebrating her dedication, determination, and political acumen and, of course, a few stories were shared as well.

It was a celebratory night for BAM. Thank you again to Perri for her leadership. We look forward to Chad?s presidency in 2013 and congratulate the 2012 BAM Award winners.